top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiddle School Señora

First Day of Middle School Spanish Class- Freebies included!

The first couple of days of school are always anxiety-ridden as I prepare to meet my new 7th graders and welcome back my 8th graders. 7th graders are new to the middle school environment, 8th graders have gotten taller but what's new for 7th graders and hasn't changed for 8th graders is the excitement we all feel to start and continue our Spanish language learning journey. My school is a K-8 district housed in the same building, but middle school is located in another part of the building and it is the first time that students have more than a couple of teachers. Besides reviewing our new policies and procedures for class, we also review "middle school stuff", so the first day leaves only a little bit of time to get into anything "Spanish".

I was gearing up for the start of school today but "Ida" had other plans. We will now be starting with students on September 8. I don't know about anyone else, but my creativity doesn't seem to kick into high gear until I'm in school and building relationships with students. However, I did plan for the first day, haha! (well I've got plans, but they are still subject to change). If you're in the same boat as I am and haven't a clue on what do for the first day, I two videos I found on YouTube. The first video, the one for 7th graders, I found on one of the groups I follow on Facebook, I am sorry I cannot remember who suggested it or where it was, but not taking credit for it, so if it was you or you know who it was, please let me know. The second one luckily is from the same channel and it is a great follow-up to the one 7th graders will be watching. They both quiz students on how much Spanish they know and remember. It's a great way to break the ice, create a learning atmosphere and make students feel comfortable. No pressure to immediately start using the target language, but an indication of what will be expected in class. Here are the links: 7th grade video - 8th grade video. I know there are many hacks for eliminating ads on YouTube, but I found Viewpure to be a great resource to clean up the video clutter and ads.


The next couple of days will be spent on acclimating 7th graders to the Spanish classroom and reviewing with 8th graders what they learned culminating with this Todo Sobre Mi I created that incorporates the themes and vocabulary they learned from the Realidades/Autentico Capitulo 1A/B, 2A/2B and 3A units. The following week we are off and running, My plans will incorporate CI and using Flangoo digital readers so stay tuned.


On another note, do you have to post your learning objectives every day for class? I streamlined my Objetivos del día slide to include some things that I normally use every day. Grab in the freebies page if you're interested.



I hope these ideas and resources are helpful to you. I hope that I have been able to and can continue to contribute and help in any way I can. We are all in this together. Let us support each other! I'm excited to start the school year and grow in my journey with CI.


Please follow my Facebook Page for updates on what I’m doing in class and join my Facebook Group for Flangoo Digital Reader Users where I post what I’m doing with the readers I am using, please join me!


If you are interested in any of my other resources you can find them in my TpT Store.


Hasta la próxima!


Find all my links here: https://linktr.ee/middleschoolsenora

*****DISCLAIMER***** If necessary, I have attempted to give credit where credit is due, if I have inadvertently not done so, please don't hate, communicate and I will lovingly make a correction to give credit to a fellow educator with the utmost of respect. Thank you! I am only human and I always come from a place of kindness.



106 views0 comments
bottom of page